DVB terrestrial

SatelliteTV in Crete

This topic contains 8 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  Kefalas 16th March 2015 at 2:15 pm.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  
  • Author
    Posts
  • #43226

    umaremasu in Crete
        • Topics: 22
        • Replies: 205
        • Total: 227
        • BIC Full Member
        • ★★★★★
        Member since: 14th November 2005

        Hi Guys

        Not sure whether anyone can help with this. Tuned our tvs in yesterday to the new DVB signal, and the search managed to find a load of channels, which even appeared on the TV guide. The sound comes through with no problems, but no picture. The large TV gives a "no video" alert, the other two just sulk.

        These are TVs brought over, and all can pick up satellite signals with no problem. Antenna is new and properly set up, and on the two smaller TVs I could even pick up the analogue signal.

        All 3 are fairly modern TVs with DVB.

        Is it something obvious in the tuning options I am missing, or is it a case of they won’t work with Greek signals? Which I can’t really understand, because DVB is supposed to me a standard!

        Regards

        Anna

        Compare hotel prices and find the best deal - HotelsCombined.com

        #43545

        Gavalochori Geezer
            • Topics: 28
            • Replies: 170
            • Total: 198
            • BIC Full Member
            • ★★★★★
            Member since: 14th December 2006

            Now I recall something about DVB-T versus DVB-T2, but the whole thing is too techie for me! Someone else will soon pop-up with the answer.

            #43765

            MartinP
                • Topics: 82
                • Replies: 581
                • Total: 663
                • Practcally Cretan
                • ★★★★★★
                Member since: 27th July 2007
                #43936

                umaremasu in Crete
                    • Topics: 22
                    • Replies: 205
                    • Total: 227
                    • BIC Full Member
                    • ★★★★★
                    Member since: 14th November 2005

                    Thanks for confirming what I thought Martin, a decoder will solve problem. … Is indeed as GG said, something to do with the signal, like it transmits the video on mpeg 4?.
                    But one thing you can tell me, do I need to search TVs for analogue or digital channels once the decoder is connected? Logic says analogue, but all 3 TVs are supposed to pick up digital.

                    #44077

                    MartinP
                        • Topics: 82
                        • Replies: 581
                        • Total: 663
                        • Practcally Cretan
                        • ★★★★★★
                        Member since: 27th July 2007

                        You don’t "search TVs" at all. You connect the Decoder with Scart or HDMI lead, then switch on TV, then Decoder. If the TV doesn’t select the decoder input automatically, select the Scart or HDMI input with the TV remote then pick up the Decoder remote and follow the on-screen instructions.

                        #44184

                        umaremasu in Crete
                            • Topics: 22
                            • Replies: 205
                            • Total: 227
                            • BIC Full Member
                            • ★★★★★
                            Member since: 14th November 2005

                            I didn’t do search as I was already in this topic, so just carried on :P
                            Thanks for the info, but went mad, got one decoder, and managed to install on my own ( as above), and as it was a resounding success. I then bought decoders for the other 2. Was surprised to note that they also have a USB input, so I can now use my USB with downloaded programmes direct into any TV rather than using the tiny USB player I bought last year! One less little box!
                            Must say I am well impressed with the reception from terrestrial digital …. no snowy channels :)

                            Thanks for help,
                            Regards

                            Anna

                            #44272

                            part time skopi resident
                                • Topics: 2
                                • Replies: 30
                                • Total: 32
                                • BIC Junior Member
                                • ★★★
                                Member since: 27th September 2011

                                Any idea when us poor souls on the east of the Island ( e.g. Ag Nick and beyond ) will get to see this greek equivelant of freeview?

                                #44345

                                Kefalas
                                Participant
                                    • Topics: 46
                                    • Replies: 306
                                    • Total: 352
                                    • Practcally Cretan
                                    • ★★★★★★
                                    Member since: 8th March 2014

                                    I couldn’t answer this question at the time and I still can’t – except to say that, if there’s no transmission yet, there ought to be in the near future.

                                    See http://www.microsofttranslator.com/bv.aspx?from=&to=en&a=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.digea.gr%2F234%2Farticle%2F1854%2FXartis-suxnotiton

                                    #44411

                                    Kefalas
                                    Participant
                                        • Topics: 46
                                        • Replies: 306
                                        • Total: 352
                                        • Practcally Cretan
                                        • ★★★★★★
                                        Member since: 8th March 2014

                                        The whole island has now switched over to Digital. If you have lost any programmes, please set your decoder to rescan (auto).

                                        The recent lightning has caused a number of faults causing "no signal" message on screen. Please check the obvious first – everything connected and the correct TV input selected – HDMI, Scart (or tuner if your TV has an integral decoder).

                                        If a rescan still finds no channels, try using a Scart lead instead of HDMI, since lightning surges often damage the decoder HDMI output.

                                        Lightning also damages masthead amplifiers. Try bypassing the amplifier (and its Power Supply unit indoors).

                                        In addition, rain can cause problems if the installation was done by a cowboy. Rain can get inside the aerial connections, the masthead amplifier and the coaxial cable. If corrosion has occurred, the best solution is to replace everything and make sure that all connections are filled with silicone grease and sealed with self-amalgamating tape (not PVC tape). See "How To" pages:-

                                        http://www.satcure.co.uk/tech/self_amalg.htm
                                        http://www.satcure.co.uk/tech/silicone.htm
                                        http://www.satcure.co.uk/tech/fplugs.htm
                                        http://www.satcure.co.uk/tech/tvplugs.htm

                                      Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)

                                      You must be logged in to reply to this topic.