Skip to content
Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  
  • Author
    Posts
  • #35376
    clarelowtherp
    Participant
        • Topics: 1
        • Replies: 0
        • Total: 1
        • BIC 2.0 Newbie
        Member since: 20th September 2011

        My hubby and I are about to move to Makrigialos, (SE Crete) permanently. We have an apartment on a complex and receive between 5 and 7 channels, BBC world news being the main one!!! Could anone advise me on how to get UK TV without having to instal a dish, as we are not allowed. We have internet in the apartment.
        Thanks

        Compare hotel prices and find the best deal - HotelsCombined.com
        BullionVault

        #35722
        YNWA
            • Topics: 61
            • Replies: 31
            • Total: 92
            • BIC Old Hand
            • ★★★★
            Member since: 2nd July 2010

            Google " expat shield " and download . you can then access bbc , itv player etc as it thinks your ip address is in the uk ( and its all free ! ) :)

            #35959
            SensibleAnn
                • Topics: 25
                • Replies: 68
                • Total: 93
                • BIC Old Hand
                • ★★★★
                Member since: 14th November 2005

                Is it possible, with Expat shield, to watch TV progs on the television without having the PC situated near and cabled directly into the TV. Our PC is at one end of the house and the TV is at the other and I wondered if there was something like a wifi router that would send the signal remotely from the PC to the TV.

                Hope this is not a stupid question!

                #36132
                Peebee
                Participant
                    • Topics: 51
                    • Replies: 720
                    • Total: 771
                    • Practcally Cretan
                    • ★★★★★★
                    Member since: 15th September 2009

                    There is someone selling something here http://www.bootfaircrete.com/for-sale.html (near the bottom of the page) that may solve your problem. It might be worth giving him a ring and picking his brains.

                    #36269
                    YNWA
                        • Topics: 61
                        • Replies: 31
                        • Total: 92
                        • BIC Old Hand
                        • ★★★★
                        Member since: 2nd July 2010

                        Sensibleann , its not a stupid question as i want to find this out too ! i have only heard off linking it directly from pc to tv via HDMI cable but if someone knows if it can be done via wi fi i would love to hear !

                        #36380
                        UTID Paul
                            • Topics: 2
                            • Replies: 17
                            • Total: 19
                            • BIC Junior Member
                            • ★★★
                            Member since: 21st September 2010

                            Might be worth checking out http://www.britishtv24.com. They have a wireless set top box that only requires HDMI lead from set top to tv. There is a subscription charge though.

                          Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
                          • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
                          Scroll To Top