Skip to content
Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 23 total)
  
  • Author
    Posts
  • #40654
    Kamisiana
    Participant
        • Topics: 9
        • Replies: 11
        • Total: 20
        • BIC Junior Member
        • ★★★
        Member since: 7th March 2011

        Has any one out there got any tips on best internet security I am using McAfee security center now and had the odd thing slip through have had a look on reviews sites and now totaly  :D Do all my banking and transfers via internet so need something good.
        OTE have bumped our 2 month bill up to 82euro for phone and broadband calls total about 3or4 euro per bill are there any more providers that are cheaper with a good broadband speed to watch tv  on, OTE say I am getting 2 mbps ;D but itv player and filmon.com work ok thanks.
        PS I am no tek geek simple answers please.

        Compare hotel prices and find the best deal - HotelsCombined.com
        BullionVault

        #41069
        Peebee
        Participant
            • Topics: 51
            • Replies: 720
            • Total: 771
            • Practcally Cretan
            • ★★★★★★
            Member since: 15th September 2009

            Hi
            I use Microsoft Security Essentials which is free and can be downloaded from the M/S site.
            I am with OTE and have their up to 24Mbps package, I usually get around 10, although over the last few days it has been playing up and keeps disconnecting every few minutes.

            #41369
            Del Boy
                • Topics: 28
                • Replies: 286
                • Total: 314
                • Practcally Cretan
                • ★★★★★★
                Member since: 24th August 2007

                If you do online banking then the bank you use should have it’s own security built into it’s online banking system, Norton or McAfee should not make any difference.
                I use Barclays online banking, first I have to put my pin number into the small card reader, then the second option is my security code number and then it will ask for the last four numbers on my card, after this it will give me eight security numbers to put in..Only then can I get into my bank. If I was to get cleaned out with fraud, then I don’t lose any money, At the moment I use Norton.

                #41597
                umaremasu in Crete
                Participant
                    • Topics: 22
                    • Replies: 205
                    • Total: 227
                    • BIC Full Member
                    • ★★★★★
                    Member since: 14th November 2005

                    I have used Eset’s NOD for the last 7 years or so, and never in that time had a problem, although on odd occasions it has blocked me from going on a dodgy (no not THAT sort of dodgy) website, and has quarantined/deleted odd e-mails!. I use it as, unlike Norton, it doesn’t slow the PC down, and also it has the best heuristic success rate. But it’s not free. £30 a year for one pc, or to cover our 3, £45.
                    As regards OTE, wish we could get the 24Mbps package :( Max here is about 2 on a good day!

                    #41765
                    Gem
                        • Topics: 27
                        • Replies: 289
                        • Total: 316
                        • Practcally Cretan
                        • ★★★★★★
                        Member since: 28th December 2010

                        wish we could have a land line – don’t moan!! 27 Euros a month for 5GB and often it doesn’t work at all. 3rd World…… maybe not. I think Angola has better internet connection. 4th World probably more appropriate!

                        #41893
                        YoMo2
                            • Topics: 37
                            • Replies: 574
                            • Total: 611
                            • Practcally Cretan
                            • ★★★★★★
                            Member since: 24th March 2011

                            Gem, where on earth do you live? And if you don’t have a landline, what are you paying 27 euros per month for exactly?

                            Andrew (curious). :)

                            #41991
                            scooby
                                • Topics: 46
                                • Replies: 493
                                • Total: 539
                                • Practcally Cretan
                                • ★★★★★★
                                Member since: 17th July 2010

                                7778726F71272425160 wrote: Gem, where on earth do you live?  And if you don’t have a landline, what are you paying 27 euros per month for exactly?

                                Andrew (curious).   :)

                                Maybe a bit like me, Andrew. We can’t get broadband as the lines cannot support it so we use a Cosmote dongle, 26EUR per month 5GB. Its pretty fast and not many problems. Depending on where you live you need to check different networks.

                                #42150
                                coming-to-Crete
                                    • Topics: 4
                                    • Replies: 15
                                    • Total: 19
                                    • BIC Junior Member
                                    • ★★★
                                    Member since: 17th August 2011

                                    What coverage do you get with the dongle and is it reliable?

                                    Steve

                                    #42218
                                    Gem
                                        • Topics: 27
                                        • Replies: 289
                                        • Total: 316
                                        • Practcally Cretan
                                        • ★★★★★★
                                        Member since: 28th December 2010

                                        Aporkoronas, where there is "no available network" until at least 2013 to quote OTE!!!!! The 27 Euros is for 5GB of crappy internet which is the cheapest alternative. There are loads of people waiting for landlines here. Some have been waiting years. OTE is a weird business that doesn’t appear to want new customers or make money. ::)

                                        #42276
                                        scooby
                                            • Topics: 46
                                            • Replies: 493
                                            • Total: 539
                                            • Practcally Cretan
                                            • ★★★★★★
                                            Member since: 17th July 2010

                                            20233C3D37323F3F530 wrote: What coverage do you get with the dongle and is it reliable?

                                            Steve

                                            Depends on location. In our house, Vodafone is rubbish and Cosmote is king and you need to test it with someones sim before you enter into a contract. I use avast for my security.

                                            #42327
                                            Del Boy
                                                • Topics: 28
                                                • Replies: 286
                                                • Total: 314
                                                • Practcally Cretan
                                                • ★★★★★★
                                                Member since: 24th August 2007

                                                I use a Vodafone dongle 10 euros a month and a Vodafone sim in the house phone for 13 euros a month, gives us 300 minutes to the UK land lines and half hour to Greek mobiles, I have no trouble getting on the internet, It’s fine for emails and looking on here, no good for downloading big stuff, I can get about 1 hour a day on the internet.

                                                #42370
                                                mr_ricky
                                                    • Topics: 19
                                                    • Replies: 66
                                                    • Total: 85
                                                    • BIC Old Hand
                                                    • ★★★★
                                                    Member since: 12th July 2012

                                                    I agree with umaremasu ESET NOD is good but depends on your OS, Norton well overpriced, deletes without asking 1st thus ruining time spent downloading perfectly legal software because IT says there is a virus, as for Microsoft well (huge sigh) I wouldn’t trust them at all wish I had learnt Linux or bought a Mac, despite being the only user on my PC and Admin with supposed full control, a glitch in Win7 gives an access denied box when trying to edit config files. It’s my system I should be able to do what I want. Some people are working on it to get a fix that works. AVG is annoying, Panda is irritating oh and have tried windows 8 on one of my other PC’s horrible looking interface for touch screen enabled systems, glad I installed it on yet another PC wouldn’t want it on my Acer ! ;)

                                                    #42407
                                                    MartinP
                                                        • Topics: 82
                                                        • Replies: 581
                                                        • Total: 663
                                                        • Practcally Cretan
                                                        • ★★★★★★
                                                        Member since: 27th July 2007

                                                        Has any one out there got any tips on best internet security PS I am no tek geek simple answers please.

                                                        For a non-techie the simplest solution is to use MacOSX. I’ve had no malware problems in 25 years. I run OSX on various cheap, second-hand Apple Macs and on a PC built specially as a "hackintosh".

                                                        For Internet, the next most reliable system to a landline is satellite internet. (Read the discussion in the satellite TV section.)

                                                        I’ve used a Cosmote Internet "dongle" and it was "OK" but the data usage was capped at 5GB/month and the connection was frequently lost for no apparent reason.

                                                        #42442
                                                        Les Bunker
                                                            • Topics: 21
                                                            • Replies: 31
                                                            • Total: 52
                                                            • BIC Old Hand
                                                            • ★★★★
                                                            Member since: 21st July 2012

                                                            Actually a question! How is it that you are able to view itvplayer? I’m located in Tavronitis but every time I’ve tried to use itvplayer I get a message which says "only to be viewed within the UK" Is there some secret you are able to share with me that will overcome this access block? Would be extremely grateful for any help!!
                                                            Many thanks,
                                                            Les & Gill Bunker.

                                                            #42470
                                                            Peebee
                                                            Participant
                                                                • Topics: 51
                                                                • Replies: 720
                                                                • Total: 771
                                                                • Practcally Cretan
                                                                • ★★★★★★
                                                                Member since: 15th September 2009

                                                                Les
                                                                A lot of us use a piece of software from `Expat Shield’ http://www.expatshield.com/
                                                                It assigns you a UK I.P. address which enables you to use all the U.K sites Iplayer, ITV, CH4 etc.
                                                                The only down side are the pop-up adverts, but it’s an irritation rather than a problem.

                                                                #42496
                                                                Les Bunker
                                                                    • Topics: 21
                                                                    • Replies: 31
                                                                    • Total: 52
                                                                    • BIC Old Hand
                                                                    • ★★★★
                                                                    Member since: 21st July 2012

                                                                    Hi Peebee,

                                                                    Thank you so much for that. Will try it out poste haste!

                                                                    Bless you!

                                                                    Les.

                                                                    #42522
                                                                    YoMo2
                                                                        • Topics: 37
                                                                        • Replies: 574
                                                                        • Total: 611
                                                                        • Practcally Cretan
                                                                        • ★★★★★★
                                                                        Member since: 24th March 2011

                                                                        UK TV can only be viewed legally if you are physically located in the UK due to all sorts of rights issues, and you also are supposed to have a TV licence even if you only watch via Internet. 

                                                                        Everyone gets round this by using a variety of services, usually involving what is called a proxy server in the UK to fool ITV and BBC into thinking your PC is in the UK.  There are other threads on BIC that will give you lots of info, if you look.

                                                                        We use http://www.uktvplus.com/ at around 4 GBP per month and are quite happy with it. No advertising!

                                                                        Andrew

                                                                        #42542
                                                                        mr_ricky
                                                                            • Topics: 19
                                                                            • Replies: 66
                                                                            • Total: 85
                                                                            • BIC Old Hand
                                                                            • ★★★★
                                                                            Member since: 12th July 2012

                                                                            I’ve only used this proxy link to browse The Pirate Bay which of course is blocked by most ISP’s not just in the UK but all over the world, don’t know if it will work but it’s free and yes I can get The Pirate Bay though of course not for illegally downloading software.
                                                                            http://www.anonymouse.org
                                                                            Regards
                                                                            Ricky and Cath
                                                                            :)

                                                                            #42562
                                                                            thebigbluecheese
                                                                                • Topics: 109
                                                                                • Replies: 256
                                                                                • Total: 365
                                                                                • Practcally Cretan
                                                                                • ★★★★★★
                                                                                Member since: 10th September 2009

                                                                                A lot of people I know use filmon.com , you get a lot of UK Channels, BBC , ITV etc , and no need for a proxy server, best of all its free as long as you use SD on the site , better still if you have an ipad download the app

                                                                                #42579
                                                                                mr_ricky
                                                                                    • Topics: 19
                                                                                    • Replies: 66
                                                                                    • Total: 85
                                                                                    • BIC Old Hand
                                                                                    • ★★★★
                                                                                    Member since: 12th July 2012

                                                                                    Hmmm thats a good link, and even if you pay so you can get full screen HD it’s still good value considering what a TV license in the UK costs. I’m sure I wouldn’t mind not even having a TV my PC’s got 23" HD screen anyway !!!!
                                                                                    Thanks for the info thebigbluecheese
                                                                                    ;D
                                                                                    Kind regards
                                                                                    Ricky & Cath

                                                                                  Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 23 total)
                                                                                  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.
                                                                                  Scroll To Top