Sky not working

SatelliteTV in Crete

This topic contains 16 replies, has 8 voices, and was last updated by  Gem 30th June 2013 at 12:01 pm.

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  
  • Author
    Posts
  • #43177

    Peebee
    Participant
        • Topics: 51
        • Replies: 720
        • Total: 771
        • Practcally Cretan
        • ★★★★★★
        Member since: 15th September 2009

        Turned on TV yesterday evening and am getting the dreaded `No satellite signal is being received’
        I have unplugged it and left it overnight, checked the LMB frequency – 12.206, signal strength is around 65%, signal quality is 0%.
        Thought it may have been the high winds as it was working fine Tuesday evening.
        Went up on roof to check dish, the connector was a bit loose so tightened it up but the mounting is absolutely rock solid – no movement at all.
        Any ideas ?

        Compare hotel prices and find the best deal - HotelsCombined.com

        #43514

        mr_ricky
            • Topics: 19
            • Replies: 66
            • Total: 85
            • BIC Old Hand
            • ★★★★
            Member since: 12th July 2012

            Well I read that there was a huge solar storm due to hit Greece yesterday (why just greece I don’t know), maybe that’s it !

            http://www.keeptalkinggreece.com/2013/05/28/solar-superstorm-to-hit-greece-on-may-282013/

            #43743

            Del Boy
                • Topics: 28
                • Replies: 286
                • Total: 314
                • Practcally Cretan
                • ★★★★★★
                Member since: 24th August 2007

                Peebee, I get no listings every time I turn on my TV, Go to the second page on sky and click on GOLD listed 110, this is the only way my TV will come on, your listings will then start to come on. I was told to do this by our Sky Engineer. Last year the listings would only boot up if I went to Radio first then back on to the TV, now it’s gold, don’t ask me why but it works for me.
                If this won’t work then your dish could be out a little

                #43917

                Peebee
                Participant
                    • Topics: 51
                    • Replies: 720
                    • Total: 771
                    • Practcally Cretan
                    • ★★★★★★
                    Member since: 15th September 2009

                    Del Boy
                    Can’t – got no signal and therefore no programmes at all

                    #44064

                    Carolinec
                        • Topics: 38
                        • Replies: 88
                        • Total: 126
                        • BIC Full Member
                        • ★★★★★
                        Member since: 23rd February 2007

                        Well….cant get some channels but have no sound at all! Also for other channels, it tells me that have the wrong card….
                        I have tried to check the sound setting but its full on just nothing come out of TV though greek channels have sound.
                        Any ideas?????

                        #44174

                        Peebee
                        Participant
                            • Topics: 51
                            • Replies: 720
                            • Total: 771
                            • Practcally Cretan
                            • ★★★★★★
                            Member since: 15th September 2009

                            Well, it’s started working again yesterday for no apparent reason. All I can think of is that it was caused by the dust in the atmosphere from the windy weather, which has now gone.
                            Signal strength is still around 65% and although signal quality is still on 0%, the picture is fine – weird.

                            #44265

                            MartinP
                                • Topics: 82
                                • Replies: 581
                                • Total: 663
                                • Practcally Cretan
                                • ★★★★★★
                                Member since: 27th July 2007

                                Went up on roof to check dish, the connector was a bit loose

                                That’s rather worrying. Has it been fitted correctly? Silicone grease inside the plug to prevent the copper from corroding. Protective rubber boot filled with silicone grease OR self-amalgamating tape sealing it?
                                http://www.satcure.co.uk/tech/boots.htm
                                http://www.satcure.co.uk/tech/fconn.htm

                                #44338

                                MartinP
                                    • Topics: 82
                                    • Replies: 581
                                    • Total: 663
                                    • Practcally Cretan
                                    • ★★★★★★
                                    Member since: 27th July 2007

                                    @carolinec
                                    Please provide ALL relevant information, including receiver make, model number, dish size, history of the fault (when it began), how receiver is connected to TV (Scart, HDMI, RF?) and a list of exactly which channels have the problem (from which satellite?).

                                    This might help: http://www.satcure.co.uk/tech/satindex.htm

                                    #44406

                                    mr_ricky
                                        • Topics: 19
                                        • Replies: 66
                                        • Total: 85
                                        • BIC Old Hand
                                        • ★★★★
                                        Member since: 12th July 2012

                                        You could always read a book ! ;D
                                        Bukowski is quite good !

                                        #44465

                                        Gem
                                            • Topics: 27
                                            • Replies: 289
                                            • Total: 316
                                            • Practcally Cretan
                                            • ★★★★★★
                                            Member since: 28th December 2010

                                            Our Sky comes and goes. the signal is stronger in the morning and overnight. Even if we have a split second power outage in the late morning or afternoon, then we lose the lot until the following morning. We leave our Sky box on all the time otherwise we’d be knackered! Sky Sports and Sky News are generally c–p but we have just had a fortnight when both were perfect??? It coincided apparently, with Tenerife and some places in S. Spain losing their Sky – maybe the satellite was tilted our way??? Anyway, Sky sports is back to being OK in the morning and increasingly poor after midday, as usual! The "normal" entertainment channels are normally fine unless the electric goes.

                                            #44513

                                            Peebee
                                            Participant
                                                • Topics: 51
                                                • Replies: 720
                                                • Total: 771
                                                • Practcally Cretan
                                                • ★★★★★★
                                                Member since: 15th September 2009

                                                Martin
                                                The connector just needed tightening up a bit – about 1 turn.
                                                It does have a protective `boot’ on the outside, but no silicone grease inside – don’t know about inside fitting as I didn’t remove.
                                                I suspect that a couple of years of windy weather on the lead from the LMB caused it to loosen slightly, but it wasn’t the cause of the problem.

                                                #44553

                                                Colosta
                                                    • Topics: 4
                                                    • Replies: 9
                                                    • Total: 13
                                                    • BIC Junior Member
                                                    • ★★★
                                                    Member since: 30th April 2007

                                                    hello all, I’m coming over for a short stay and bringing my UK Sky HD box with full package, I have a 1.5 m dish pointing at the Astra sat and when last on Crete it was hooked up to a freesat sat receiver, I could see several sky channels but obviously not unscramble them, what can I expect with my sky HD box and do I need any fine tuning regarding my box.
                                                    Thanks in advance for any replies

                                                    #44588

                                                    esxman
                                                        • Topics: 31
                                                        • Replies: 95
                                                        • Total: 126
                                                        • BIC Full Member
                                                        • ★★★★★
                                                        Member since: 21st November 2009

                                                        Pee , try another number in the installers menu
                                                        12051    works for me whaen we got zilch on 12207 
                                                        esxman

                                                        #44619

                                                        Gem
                                                            • Topics: 27
                                                            • Replies: 289
                                                            • Total: 316
                                                            • Practcally Cretan
                                                            • ★★★★★★
                                                            Member since: 28th December 2010

                                                            Sky Sports working perfectly this morning on 12.207 after 2 weeks of – nothing!

                                                            #44644

                                                            MartinP
                                                                • Topics: 82
                                                                • Replies: 581
                                                                • Total: 663
                                                                • Practcally Cretan
                                                                • ★★★★★★
                                                                Member since: 27th July 2007

                                                                I suspect that a couple of years of windy weather on the lead from the LMB caused it to loosen slightly, but it wasn’t the cause of the problem.

                                                                It’s "LNB". http://www.satcure.co.uk/tech/lnb.htm
                                                                The nut should be nipped up with an 11mm spanner. It can’t possibly come loose if fitted correctly.
                                                                Silicone grease is advisable because bare copper oxidises.
                                                                http://www.satcure.co.uk/tech/silicone.htm
                                                                So what was the cause of the problem?

                                                                #44666

                                                                Peebee
                                                                Participant
                                                                    • Topics: 51
                                                                    • Replies: 720
                                                                    • Total: 771
                                                                    • Practcally Cretan
                                                                    • ★★★★★★
                                                                    Member since: 15th September 2009

                                                                    5A68645B686D6F667B6D090 wrote: So what was the cause of the problem?

                                                                    Never did find out, but it has happened a couple of times since.
                                                                    Reported signal strength when working is around 60%, signal quality however is 0%.
                                                                    Yesterday afternoon I was still getting  programmes that normally break up early / mid morning, up until approx 17.30.

                                                                    #44685

                                                                    Gem
                                                                        • Topics: 27
                                                                        • Replies: 289
                                                                        • Total: 316
                                                                        • Practcally Cretan
                                                                        • ★★★★★★
                                                                        Member since: 28th December 2010

                                                                        I think reception is based on lunar cycles!!!! We get 2 weeks perfect signal then 2 weeks with weak reception until mid morning then nothing. Obviously not related to weather or technology so it must be the moon! ;D

                                                                      Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)

                                                                      You must be logged in to reply to this topic.