Sky + standard def

SatelliteTV in Crete

This topic contains 9 replies, has 5 voices, and was last updated by  x5kmt 16th April 2013 at 6:17 pm.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  
  • Author
    Posts
  • #43087

    esxman
        • Topics: 31
        • Replies: 95
        • Total: 126
        • BIC Full Member
        • ★★★★★
        Member since: 21st November 2009

        Do people find a problem , if when the revma has been off and returns, and the skybox is set to 12207  still….we wait days for the "searching for listings"to disappear ,we have tried switching it off for the 5 mins , to no avail. and days later we get the programs back . Is it us or is this a general thing , and does anyone know if we would do better upgrading to Sky HD ?. Watching Filmon etc isn’t an option for us as we live in the back of beyond for an OTE line

        Compare hotel prices and find the best deal - HotelsCombined.com

        #43457

        Gem
            • Topics: 27
            • Replies: 289
            • Total: 316
            • Practcally Cretan
            • ★★★★★★
            Member since: 28th December 2010

            We occasionally lose everything via Sky in the afternoon and evening but it comes back the following morning. We rarely get Sky News or Sky Sports on 12.207 now, even in the morning. We leave our box switched on and on Channel 106 when we are not watching as someone once told us that this was a strong channel and helps to "pull" the others through. I don’t know if that’s true or not but it appears to work? We also can’t have a landline but have invested in Tooway satellite internet with an unlimited package. Tooway Direct are offering UK IP addresses which they say "should" run for 2 years but cannot be guaranteed. It is so annoying Sky is rubbish!

            #43701

            barbary_coaster
            Participant
                • Topics: 33
                • Replies: 297
                • Total: 330
                • Practcally Cretan
                • ★★★★★★
                Member since: 15th November 2005

                59434C59465E5F5A360 wrote: Do people find a problem , if when the revma has been off and returns, and the skybox is set to 12207  still….we wait days for the "searching for listings"to disappear ,we have tried switching it off for the 5 mins , to no avail. and days later we get the programs back . Is it us or is this a general thing , and does anyone know if we would do better upgrading to Sky HD ?.

                We have a similar problem after the power has been off – constantly says "searching for listings". 
                However I found that by putting in the number manually for a working channel i.e. 501 for Sky News – it immediately solves the problem.
                I also have the Sky box on a UPS so it only causes this problem if the power is off for a while.

                #43887

                Gem
                    • Topics: 27
                    • Replies: 289
                    • Total: 316
                    • Practcally Cretan
                    • ★★★★★★
                    Member since: 28th December 2010

                    Ours will work if we put a channel in when it’s off in the morning but nothing works if we get ‘searching for listings’ in the afternoon or evening! I think this is because the signal is much weaker at night. I’m impressed you are still getting Sky News! Do you have Sky Sports as well? What size dish do you have and are you SD or HD?

                    #44040

                    esxman
                        • Topics: 31
                        • Replies: 95
                        • Total: 126
                        • BIC Full Member
                        • ★★★★★
                        Member since: 21st November 2009

                        Thanks Gem and Barbary,  I am still without Sky for the 3rd day running , maybe I try a big ups … and repost to find out if the Sky HD people are faring any better, otherwise it looks like we will have to think about Nova .. esxman

                        #44158

                        x5kmt
                        Participant
                            • Topics: 29
                            • Replies: 679
                            • Total: 708
                            • Practcally Cretan
                            • ★★★★★★
                            Member since: 12th November 2005

                            I used to use 12.207 on my box (notHD) but had lost all signals when I was last over. I was told by my installer to reset the frequency to another which has worked, though Sky news and some other channels have gone.

                            Sorry, now back in UK I can not remember the one I was told to use, I will not be able to check until I am next over in May.

                            Kathleen

                            #44253

                            thebigbluecheese
                                • Topics: 109
                                • Replies: 256
                                • Total: 365
                                • Practcally Cretan
                                • ★★★★★★
                                Member since: 10th September 2009

                                I have a Sky HD Box and paid the full subscription until recently , Got XBMC which gives me everything and more I had with Sky Canceled the subscription as I think its the end of the road for UK Sat TV (SKY) in Crete

                                #44328

                                esxman
                                    • Topics: 31
                                    • Replies: 95
                                    • Total: 126
                                    • BIC Full Member
                                    • ★★★★★
                                    Member since: 21st November 2009

                                    have just been given a new freq to try 12.051  instead of 12.207, works like a dream as soon as  you goto 401 etc and put new freq in , we get all the progs back .It sounds like we are on borrowed time though ,the SD channels are going awol  one by one   

                                    #44397

                                    esxman
                                        • Topics: 31
                                        • Replies: 95
                                        • Total: 126
                                        • BIC Full Member
                                        • ★★★★★
                                        Member since: 21st November 2009

                                        11681  is yet another frequency to try , that works for my box too, and from what friends say , there is little point in paying more for HD because the movie channels seem to be missing!!

                                        #44456

                                        x5kmt
                                        Participant
                                            • Topics: 29
                                            • Replies: 679
                                            • Total: 708
                                            • Practcally Cretan
                                            • ★★★★★★
                                            Member since: 12th November 2005

                                            That is the one I was given to use, Esxman, I thought it was, but did not post in case my memory was faulty! I will also try 12.501

                                            Kathleen

                                          Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)

                                          You must be logged in to reply to this topic.